The Tangerine Cash Back Credit Card Review

Last updated: March 20, 2019

Tangerine credit card review

If you're looking for a credit card that thinks outside the box when it comes to earning cash back rewards, you've come to the right place.

The no-fee Tangerine Money-Back Credit Card is a top contender. It lets you choose up to 3 categories to earn unlimited 2% cash back rewards, from a choice of 10 categories.

No other credit card in the market will let you do that. Plus, if your spending patterns change, you can adjust which categories earn 2% rewards accordingly.

And while it only earns (unlimited) 0.5% on everything else, it still ranks as one of the top 10 best no fee cash back cards in Canada right now.

This 0.5% earn rate may make this card less attractive, but all you need to get around it is to be creative and combine it with another credit card to maximize your rewards. Check out the maximize your rewards section below to find out how.

All-in-all, Tangerine has a winning card here and should be seriously considered as an addition to anyone's wallet.

Quick facts

Annual fee $0
Interest rate 19.95%
Min. income No set minimum
Reward type Cash Back
Reward 0.5% unlimited cash back on regular purchases 2% unlimited cash back on up to 3 bonus categories you choose
HTS reward return 1.1% of spending for a typical person
Sign-up bonus None
Apply Click here
Get a credit card with top travel insurance.
Plus a travel bonus worth another $150.
Quantities are limited.

Positives

Let's take a look at some of the best parts of this card.

  • 2% cash back on 2 bonus spending categories of your choosing - the only card on the market to offer this.
  • 3rd bonus category if you choose to deposit your money back into a Tangerine savings account.
  • You can switch your bonus categories once every 90 days in case your spending habits change.
  • Automatic monthly cash back redemption as a statement credit or deposit into your Tangerine Savings Account.
  • No caps or limits to the amount of cash back you can earn.
  • No annual fee for both primary and secondary cardholders.

Negatives

But what about the places where it comes a bit short of the mark?

  • 0.5% cash back on regular purchases is lower than many other cash back credit cards.
  • Poor insurance package when compared to other top no-fee cards.
  • No sign up bonus like some other top cards have.
  • Standard 2.5% foreign currency transaction fee

Insurance package

This card gives you the following insurance coverage:

  • Extended warranty – up to one year.
  • Purchase protection – 90 days.

How the bonus categories work

There are currently 10 bonus spending categories that you can choose from right away when you apply.

Then later, you can change your categories as often as you want, but changes will only come into effect after 3 billing cycles of having used the previously selected categories. This is so people don't constantly adjust their categories as they make purchases.

Here's what's currently available:

  • Gas
  • Grocery
  • Drug Store
  • Recurring Bills
  • Restaurants
  • Entertainment
  • Home Improvement
  • Furniture
  • Hotel-Motel
  • Public Transportation and Parking

You automatically get 2 bonus spending categories when you sign up for the card and choose to get your money back as a monthly statement credit to your credit card account. But, if you opt to deposit it into a Tangerine Savings Account instead, you'll permanently get a 3rd bonus category.

How to maximize your rewards

This card has some great potential, so here are a couple tips to help you get the most out of it.

Use a second top card for everyday spending

With the regular spending rate dropping to 0.5%, the first thing you should do is only use your Tangerine card for stores that give you the increased cash back rate.

So what do you do for the rest of your purchases?

I suggest applying for the . It's another no-fee cash back credit card that gives you 1.25% cash back on ALL your purchases. Not only that, but you get an increased 2.5% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months.

If you prefer a card with no foreign currency transaction fees, then the could be for you. Get 1% cash back on all your purchases and pay no foreign currency fees, all for no annual fee.

Pair with another credit card that has categories

If you already have a credit card that has bonus earn rates on select categories, you can still consider adding the Tangerine Money-Back card to your wallet for max rewards.

Make your customized 2% categories different from what your other credit card offers you. This way, you can earn more bonus cash back on more categories, increasing your overall rewards.

Plus, since the Tangerine card has no annual fee, you aren't cutting into your total rewards either.

Get your 3rd bonus spending category

Another thing you could do is make sure you have a Tangerine savings account, giving you that precious 3rd bonus category.

Tangerine offers no-fee banking with easy electronic transfers to all other Canadian banks via online banking. You can even email money for free using their own email money transfer solution so you don't have to worry about getting your money in and out.

It all works seamlessly with your current bank - I know because I'm a Tangerine client myself but use another bank for my primary chequing.

Even if you don't use the account for anything else but securing the 3rd bonus category, it's still worth it.

And right now, you can get a ton of extra bonuses.

For setting up a new Tangerine Savings Account, you get 2.75% interest for 6 months.

You can get up to $200 in cash bonuses if you set up a Tangerine No Fee Chequing Account:

  • A $50 bonus for using the Orange Key "Orange50" while creating a new account and making an initial deposit of at least $100, AND
  • an extra $150 bonus when you switch 2 pre-authorized payments of $50 or more for 3 consecutive months, OR
  • set up a payroll direct deposit for 3 consecutive months.

That's $200 in bonuses just for opening a free account.

Open A Tangerine Account: Click Here

Use This Orange Key: Orange50

Choose your bonus spending categories wisely

After that, you need to figure out where you spend your money so you can decide which 2% bonus categories to select so you can maximize your cash.

The FREE Monthly Budget Planner I offer to everyone who joins my money saving tips newsletter can help you do this. Be sure to check back every now and then to see if your spending habits change so you can adjust your categories.

Maximize your bonuses

Finally, be sure to maximize your 2% bonus spending.

One way to do this is to choose Grocery as one of your categories and then go to a grocery store that has a gift card mall where you can buy gift cards to your favourite stores and restaurants. Stock up on gift cards for stores where you regularly shop anyway and the increased 2% rate still applies.

That means you're effectively earning 2% on all those future purchases made with your gift cards that would normally only qualify for the 0.5% rate. Just make sure you only buy what you'll spend money on anyway (and don't lose your gift cards).

Wrapping it up

Tangerine offers an innovative card that lets you choose your own bonus categories. It lets you be in control of how you want to earn your rewards – a rare feature in the Canadian credit card market.

And while it only earns a meager 0.5% cash back on your other purchases, you can bypass that negative by combining it with either the or and you'll still get a minimum 1% return on your spending. All for no annual fee.

Or, combine it with another credit card that has bonus categories, and use the Tangerine Card to get even more bonus categories, and watch your rewards add up at lightning speed.

Apply Now!

Disclosure: Some links in this article may be affiliate links. We're letting you know because it's the right thing to do. Here’s a more detailed disclosure on how HTS makes money.

Hot Credit Card Deals This Month:

  • Get $150 worth of travel rewards + a $100 Amazon.ca e-gift card on us 
    • 1 point for every $1 spent.
    • 4 points for every $1 spent on gas, groceries, entertainment and at restaurants.
    • 15,000 bonus points worth $150 in travel rewards.
    • Insurance that includes emergency medical over the age 65.
    • Personal income requirement of only $12K.
    • A $100 Amazon.ca e-gift card on us ‒ offer ends March 31, 2019.
  • Best Costco travel Mastercard in Canada: Great bonus offer + first year free
    • 3,000 bonus miles + a companion flight rebate to use in your first year.
    • Exclusive 15% mile discount when redeeming for flights in North America.
    • Access to Mastercard Airport Experiences Provided by LoungeKey + 2 annual passes.
    • Most travel insurance coverage of any travel card on the market.
    • Annual fee waived for the first year.
  • Earn 60,000 welcome bonus points + enjoy 1 free hotel night annually
    • Earn 2 point for every $1 spent*.
    • Earn 5 points for every $1 spent at participating Marriott Bonvoy properties*.
    • Transfer points to more than 40 airline rewards programs, usually 3:1 with most programs*.
    • An Annual Free Night Award after your anniversary each year*.
    • Gold Elite status when you spend $30,000 annually*.
    • * Conditions apply.
  • Rate Your Wallet in 3 minutes or less. Take the quiz

Comments

CanadianDaniel's picture

Great article Stephen ... Exciting because not only can I now accelerate cash rewards from regular grocery shopping via the Tangerine card, I can also earn Air Miles at grocers like Metro. Same notion for the Shoppers Optimum program. In the credit card rewards game, we call this triple-dipping. Frugal shoppers rejoice!

April 05, 2016 @ 12:44 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

Absolutely - dip away. I actually call it stacking when you combine a bunch of different deals all at the same time but it's basically the same thing :)

https://www.howtosavemoney.ca/best-deal

April 05, 2016 @ 1:53 pm
Gloria Clamen
Gloria Clamen's picture

I had signed up for the new credit card offered to me as a customer of Tangerine several months ago, as per their trial. They have just rewarded me by offering me 4% on 3 categories for 3 months - an amazing perk!

April 05, 2016 @ 3:15 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

Glad to hear they are giving this to existing customers as well, good for them! It's a pretty unprecedented sign up perk for a no-fee cash back card because it doesn't have any limits. I'm pretty sure they are taking a small loss on every dollar at 4% during this promo period, but that's just me guessing based on what I know credit cards roughly charge in merchant fees.

April 05, 2016 @ 4:04 pm
Sherri
Sherri 's picture

How long is the 4% bonus available ? One month of spending or 3? Also do you think recurring monthly seasons hockey tickets would be a recurring bill ? Just thinking .....

April 06, 2016 @ 1:07 am
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

The bonus is available for 3 months after you account is open. I believe the terms say 93 days exactly if my memory is correct.

Monthly hockey tickets may be classified as Entertainment, so I'm not sure. It really depends on how the merchant (in this case the hockey team) has elected to classify themselves. You could try calling and asking but you'll probably run into a lot of employees who have no clue what you're talking about, but the easiest way to know would just be to give it a try.

April 06, 2016 @ 11:13 am
paul
paul's picture

Hello,
I have a small business what would be the best card for cash back.

April 13, 2016 @ 2:39 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

Well paul, you can use personal cards for small business purposes so I would just get one of the top personal cards per my rankings and just use it solely for business purposes. That way it's easy to keep your transactions separate for accounting purposes.

April 13, 2016 @ 4:46 pm
Dave Gordon
Dave Gordon's picture

I have all of my credit cards set up to pay the full balance due by the due date, directly from my bank account. This avoids interest charges, and lets me travel worry-free because I don't need to access my bank over public wi-fi hotspots - a security no-no!

Unfortunately, I cannot do this with the Tangerine card unless I have a Tangerine bank account to pay from - which I don't want or need. This is the only bank/credit card that doesn't allow automatic payment from a major bank account like TD or Royal.

September 09, 2016 @ 3:54 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

Auto pay is a great feature. Some banks definitely don't offer this though but most of the big ones do. I personally don't do it because I want to review my transactions before paying the bill to make sure I don't miss anything and there aren't any fraudulent charges.

September 12, 2016 @ 11:35 am
Farida Sultana
Farida Sultana's picture

hey Stephen,

I also do auto payments in full. Are you saying, if there is a fraudulent charge and I pay it, the credit card company will not investigate it ,(after payment) and reverse the charge.

Regards,

Farida

May 09, 2017 @ 4:30 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

I believe you have a set amount of time to report problems with your statement (I'm guessing 90 days but you'd have to check with each institution to see what their rules are). They might help you after that point, but it would get increasingly difficult the longer you leave it.

May 09, 2017 @ 9:25 pm
Dan M.
Dan M. 's picture

Do you have any ideea in which category amazon is? I spent a lot on amazon and I don't want to apply to their own cc.

September 22, 2016 @ 5:49 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

Unfortunately I don't know - but Tangerine MasterCard customer service might know.

September 23, 2016 @ 1:22 pm
Santiago
Santiago's picture

If available get the Chase amazon card 2% cash back and No Foreign Transaction fees

May 09, 2017 @ 11:16 am
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

Unfortunately it is no longer available to any new applicants and the 2% is only on Amazon purchases. 1% on all other purchases.

May 09, 2017 @ 11:52 am
Santiago
Santiago's picture

Hello Stephen,

I am not cancelling right away. But I have moved all my personal expenses (where I don't earn 3% PC Master Elite) to Amex SimplyCash. It's too much of a hassle to carry too many cards and remember the categories. Furthermore, I ran a quick a dirty comparison on my last years expenses and even with the 2% categories I am ahead in cash back just using the Amex

May 09, 2017 @ 11:15 am
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

For the average person I calculate that you'll get roughly a 1.1% return on spending if you pur all your spending on the Tangerine card now. I think it was about 1.3% previously. If you combine with Amex SimplyCash you should achieve about 1.6%.

May 09, 2017 @ 11:54 am
Sergio
Sergio's picture

I will reluctantly keep the Tangerine card. I ran a quick calculation and based on our spending pattern, even with a 2%/0.5% cashback, I still get more cashback than with a card offering 1% on everything.

The sad part is that I went with the Tangerine card last year specifically because my old card (CIBC Dividend One, formerly Citi Enrich) had gone from a 1% cashback on everything to 2% on groceries/0.5% on everything else. "Bait and switch" is an understatement.

May 09, 2017 @ 11:37 am
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

Very frustrating for those who want to keep all spending on one card and still get good rewards. Starts to make the hassle of managing the categories not worth it over a straight 1% cash back card.

May 09, 2017 @ 11:55 am
Stu
Stu's picture

Thanks for the updated review on the Tangerine credit card Stephen. Based on your previous heads up and media articles I no longer use my Tangerine card as I do not like being taken advantage of. I will keep it for emergencies but will not renew it when the current card expires. Whatever reasons there are for the changes to the Tangerine benefits, I feel it was a bait and switch so I have switched. I am now using the MBNA World Elite card based on your recommendation. Yes, it has a fee attached but I am still well ahead with payback even with the fee.

May 09, 2017 @ 11:39 am
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

MBNA Rewards World Elite all the way! For those who have enough spending to come out ahead after the annual fee anyway.

May 09, 2017 @ 11:56 am
Ruth
Ruth's picture

Hi,

When the Tangerine card became available to the general public I got it and was thrilled with it. It ,obviously, was the best deal going. So, I was very disappointed when they announced these changes. Because of the changes, they have lost some of my business. Initially, Tangerine became my primary card as I put almost everything on it. I have a savings account with Tangerine, so have three categories to choose from and I have the cash back deposited into that account. I have another card which gives 2% cash back on groceries and gas and 1% on everything else. So, I now only use Tangerine for my 3 chosen categories and everything else is on the other card. The one thing I do like about Tangerine is that you get the cash back each month (and it's the actual amount and not a rounded figure) rather than having to wait until it reaches a certain amount, usually $50. I just hope that they don't make any further "negative" changes!

May 09, 2017 @ 11:40 am
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

I agree it's still worth keeping. I don't think they'll dare make any further negative changes for quite some time after the backlash they got from this. Time will tell.

May 09, 2017 @ 11:57 am
EdandR
EdandR's picture

Regrettably we just applied for the card and received it in the mail the same day that you posted your update!

We are seniors who followed your advice and switched from the BMO World Airmiles card because we can no longer afford their travel insurance. It would have been $329 this year in addition to the $120 annual fee.

We got a Desjardins Visa Card for the travel insurance and applied for the Tangerine to continue with a Mastercard.

I guess you just can't win in this ever changing world!

May 11, 2017 @ 10:59 am
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

Yes, that's unfortunate. I think you made a smart move switching to Desjardins anyway for the insurance though so at least that is a plus.

May 12, 2017 @ 3:51 pm
Nicholas Sean Haydon
Nicholas Sean Haydon's picture

Will continue to use the Tangerine credit card. The master card offered by the "Bay" is an alternative card that I use quite often. The reward program is straightforward; 2% earned each month. Happy with this card. Recently took advantage of the store's "Bay days." In brief, a pair of shoes (Rockport) valued at $160, on sale for $120, by using the "Bay master card" received an additional 25% discount,I redeemed $60.00 in points, the total cost of the shoes was just over $43.00. Have done this a few times over the years. The interest rate does not bother me; the balance is paid in full every month as I have done so for the past 13 years when using either the in store credit card or the co branded master card.

May 09, 2017 @ 11:55 am
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

Didn't think the return was 2% on that card (maybe at Bay stores only?). I'll have to give it another look. Store cards can sometimes be good for nabbing special deals targeted only at those cardholders. I've been tempted before but never actually taken the plunge. I tend to shop around so much that it's hard for me to commit to deals at one store like that.

May 09, 2017 @ 11:59 am
Ken
Ken's picture

Good article. After some talking, my wife and I are staying with the Tangerine card, ands thats it. The last year we have had it has made things a lot easier when it comes to tracking, and to be honest, we were sick of using multiple cards to maximize cash back. Doing that for years and years, and then going to one card for everything, makes us realize that sometimes taking the stress out of things is worth the money we are losing on cash back. We like the fact we get paid out monthly, in cash. Not rewards, not cash back on your card, not once a year. The layout on the site is a lot betetr than other cards we have used, the option to see what card bought what, CIBC and MBNA never had that. Tracking is easier as well to see when things are paid.

While we are "losing money" to some, we are still making money using the card. Yes we are making half the amount on anything that isnt in the 2% categories, but making half is better than making none.

May 09, 2017 @ 11:56 am
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

As long as you are happy with the end product, it's all that really matters. It's just too bad that they attracted you with their initial offer and now that you're hooked you have to live with something less. Still a great card though so I completely understand your decision. Time is the only thing more valuable than money.

May 09, 2017 @ 12:01 pm
glenn
glenn's picture

I applied for the Tangerine card but was denied because I live in the country and have a post office box. So I applied for the MBNA card with cash back.

May 09, 2017 @ 1:31 pm
Tammy
Tammy's picture

Hi Stephen,
I just tried clicking the link you provided above to apply for a chequing account w Tangerine, I see below message about the $75 bonus. It has already ended however your post is current and mentioned about this offer being available now if we choose to apply. Please clarify. thanks. Love reading all your articles and learned a lot btw.....keep up the great work.

***Once you’ve opened your Account, you can earn an additional $75 Bonus when you switch your payroll direct deposits by April 28, 2017. Your first payroll direct deposit has to be deposited into your Tangerine Chequing Account by April, 28 2017 in order to get the $75 cash Bonus***

May 09, 2017 @ 12:34 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

Apologies for this. I believe the offer is still active after chequing around the site and seeing mention of May 15th for basically the same offer in the footer elsewhere. However, I'm not 100% certain and am checking with Tangerine to make sure.

EDIT:

I simplified it down to 1 link instead of 2 where it allows you to open either a chequing or savings account. Both bonuses are listed correctly with an end day of May 15,2017. Use that link to apply and take a screenshot of it if you can to send them if you have any trouble getting your bonuses.

May 09, 2017 @ 3:24 pm
Tammy
Tammy's picture

thanks for prompt reply Stephen....appreciate it. Just checked w payroll and the pay for this Friday is gone so I won't be able to make a payroll deposit in time to take advantage of this promo. If payday was next Friday it would have worked. Maybe I'll catch it next time. Do you happen to know roughly when the next offer like this will come around? Just wondering how frequent Tangerine have this type of promo since I'm not too familiar w Tangerine. thanks again.

May 09, 2017 @ 5:38 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

That's unfortunate. You might still be able to qualify if you setup the switch before the May 15th deadline but you'd have to check with Tangerine support on that. I don't have any word on what the next promotion is going to be. It could be better or worse than this one. This one is pretty good though.

The good news is they usually always run a promotion of some sort, so you can expect a new one to be announced shortly after this one ends.

May 09, 2017 @ 9:28 pm
Richard Hunter
Richard Hunter's picture

Good article & informative comments. Due to changes using Tangerine card only for 2 % on 3 categories - Groceries, Home improvements & Recurring Bills . Teaming it with our Capital One Costco MasterCard since 3% on Restaurants, 2% on Gas and 1% for everything else after .5% on first $3,000. Seems to give us maximum cash rewards. Have had Amex but not happy with their charges to retailers & as a result some won't accept.

May 09, 2017 @ 12:53 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

Yes, combining with other bonus category cards allows you to increase your overall cash back.

May 09, 2017 @ 3:25 pm
A tech guy in BC
A tech guy in BC's picture

I will do the same a many others who have commented - use it for my selected categories only. IN addition to the 2% category payback, it has a pretty convenient automatic credit on each month's bill, and it interfaces very nicely with Quicken Cash manager (unlike two of my other cards).

OUtside my Tangerine categories, I will continue to use PC Mastercard fro Loblaw stores (3%), and Rogers Mastercard (1.75% on all purchases in Canada), and Amazon Chase Visa for USA purchases (no exchange penalty, and earn 1% on most purchases, 2% an Amazon purchases).

That is a lot of cards, and not as convenient as using just one card, but worthwhile in the end.

Tech Guy in BC

May 09, 2017 @ 1:15 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

That's a lot to juggle, but you're covering all your bases for sure.

May 09, 2017 @ 3:26 pm
Erich
Erich's picture

Thanks -- agree with your recommendation except that you do need a third card for the many merchants that do not accept Amex

May 09, 2017 @ 1:25 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

In that case I suggest just falling back to the Tangerine card because it should be fairly rare so you don't have to deal with the added hassle of a third card. That's a personal choice though. Trying to keep it relatively simple but boost the cash by a large amount. Anything else is getting pretty complicated.

May 09, 2017 @ 3:27 pm
Erich
Erich's picture

I agree except that I need a MC card anyways for fairly large purchases at Costco (including prescription drugs -- they have the lowest dispensing fees by a wide margin), so getting a PC Card which gives me !% plus 7 cents off a cheaper gas price makes sense for me. Three cards mainly but I do keep the Amazon/Visa as well for double points at Amazon PLUS and when I travel, no foreign exchange extra charge.

Thanks again for your reviews!

May 11, 2017 @ 12:34 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

Sounds like you've gotten good at donig the CC juggling act. Kudos to you for that. Thanks for reading the reviews I write :)

May 12, 2017 @ 3:53 pm
Bob
Bob's picture

I changed from Costco Capital One Card Mastercard to the Tangerine Card . Capital One is not satisfactory for handling fraud incidences or for use when out of country among other things. They simply can not be trusted.

Thanks for the heads up on Tangerine.

I now will only use Tangerine for 2 categories offering 2 %.

I have Amex Simply Cash and Chase Amazon Visa for Amazon and Costco US.

What MasterCard would Stephen recommend for Costco Canada that has no fee and giving at least 1% cash back?

Thanks for your help.

May 09, 2017 @ 6:20 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

I recommend the MBNA Rewards MasterCard that gives a straight unlimited 1% cash back and is super flexible with how and when you redeem your rewards. Also comes with great insurance coverage for a no fee card. It's #3 in the table above.

May 09, 2017 @ 9:30 pm
Josh Glines
Josh Glines's picture

My wife and I do a lot of shopping at costco.

Does anyone know which spending category it falls under, or if that data is listed anywhere ?

Thanks

May 10, 2017 @ 4:39 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

I don't believe it falls under a category where any credit card can get you a bonus. Not even the Tangerine card.

May 10, 2017 @ 4:47 pm
Alisa Petrisch
Alisa Petrisch 's picture

Hello, if I buy Costco gift cards using my Costco MasterCard for purchase to score cash back points, do I get more points once I shop using that gift card too?
Is that double dipping and does it work?
Thank you!

May 11, 2017 @ 1:16 pm
Stephen Weyman
Stephen Weyman's picture

It's a good thought, but unfortunately when you make your purchase in-store at Costco using your gift cards you won't get any additional points.

May 12, 2017 @ 3:55 pm
Owen @ PlanEasy's picture

That's really too bad. I was considering applying for this card. I recently opened up a Tangerine checking/savings account and noticed this card had a pretty good 2% cash back on key categories. Still not too bad with 3 categories getting 2% back. Still may end up applying.

May 15, 2017 @ 10:02 am
Wait Waiting
Wait Waiting's picture

I applied for the Tangerine Credit Card 3 weeks ago, i'm still waiting. They say there doing a manual verification.

July 11, 2017 @ 9:42 pm
Sarah
Sarah's picture

I'm super disappointed with Tangerine master card. They endorse a fraud Limo merchant ID #: 98628 1100 17001 under the pretext of following regulations though I have provided the proof that the Cab Limo service was imposter pretending to be a licensed taxi driver from Pearson's airport / over charge and corner passenger to pay because the passenger is locked inside the car. I sent Tangerine Master Card several letters but it seems talking to a wall.
Here is the Toronto Sun article: Pearson limo, taxi drivers in credit fraud: Cops
http://www.torontosun.com/2014/07/26/limo-and-taxi-drivers-involved-in-c...

And this is the reply from the Pearson’s security confirming those common cases of fraud Limo Cab drivers. What else should I provide to Tangerine in order for me to be reimbursed???

From: Greater Toronto Airports Authority
Date: July 21, 2017 10:56:22 AM
To:
Subject: Re: Toronto Pearson - GTAA-238298

Dear ************,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Toronto Pearson.

Your comments were forwarded to the Greater Toronto Airports Authority (GTAA) Manager Intelligence, Support & Compliance for his information. At Toronto Pearson, all authorized taxis and limousines are required to obtain a permit to operate from our airport. This contract allows us to set certain standards with regards to service, maintenance and availability of vehicles for our passengers and therefore have full control of the operation.

Unfortunately some vehicle operators are not able to obtain these permits and attempt to operate illegally. The GTAA recognizes the serious problem of unlicensed taxis and limousines operating at Toronto Pearson. To address this problem we are actively working with our government and security partners to make our airport undesirable and unprofitable to these individuals. We have recently hired a security firm whose role is to intervene when they identify a passenger being solicited by an unlicensed taxi operator and issue trespassing notices or have them removed from the airport property. The elimination of this activity is an on-going campaign. Please be assured that the GTAA, along with our partners and authorized taxi and limousine operators, are aggressively addressing this issue.

Further to this we will also be addressing this with the Commissionaires who are the uniformed personnel available to assist passengers in locating authorized transportation from Toronto Pearson. Under no circumstances are these individuals to direct passengers to other means of transport. That said, the illegal drivers have been known to have an individual within the terminal that they would with, also not authorized to be here and our team is also approaching these individuals and have them escorted off property.

Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope that on your next visit here will be more pleasant.

Kind regards,

July 30, 2017 @ 4:53 pm
Fraud
Fraud's picture

Had this card for several years now. Their contract stipulates a 2% return on some categories, in our case Food & Groceries.

Much to our recent surprise, after re-checking statements going back in time, Tangerine only gave a 0.5% rebate on many seemingly randomly-selected well-known food stores (and these are and have always been 100% food and only-food businesses). I called customer-service and got a rehearsed "we've heard about this" reply with the lame and improbable "explanation" that it has something to do with "how that business originally registered with MasterCard". Bottom line, nothing they will do about this. So it's a crap shoot within any category set for a 2% rebate - you may get your 2%, or their basic 0.5%.

This not only sounds like hogwash but it is effectively breach of contract on the part of the Bank. Their own statements show the appropriate "Food & Groceries" label on posted expenses in that category but many are only 0.5% instead of the 2% on most.

I am wondering how many people actually check their statements and associated rebate percentages? Sounds like fraud to me.

February 05, 2018 @ 11:18 am
GM
GM's picture

Beware of the Tangerine bonus categories. I just replaced my roof and put it on my Tangerine Mastercard. I had the "Home Improvement and Repair" category so I thought I'd be getting 2% back on my purchase. When I saw that Tangerine had only credited me with 0.5% I called them and they said it's not up to them to decide the categories. It's up to how the companies register themselves. In my case, the way the roofing company had registered themselves didn't fall into any of the 10 different categories they used. So they are categorized as 'Other' - which means 0.5%. I've lost confidence in these categories and as a result this credit card. I would NOT recommend you make big ticket purchased with the Tangerine credit card.
And if you can't make those big purchases for the 2%, what's the point???

When it first came out I loved this credit card. Now I'll probably cancel it.

March 01, 2018 @ 4:33 pm

Post new comment